top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRockin' Ric's Blog

The Native Artifacts Just Kept Showing Up In My Sifter

Updated: Dec 21, 2021

Got to go on a creek excursion about a month ago to hunt for Cretaceous Marine fossils visiting this site for the 3rd time. It had rained pretty hard the night before so we didn't know if the water levels would be up in the area we were headed to?

When we got to the site it was overcast and the weather forecast was supposed to be a sunny afternoon? The weather front had brought in cooler weather and with the breeze you could tell the big difference in the change in temperature. I was eager to get down to the creek and was the first to come upon the creek. I see two deer standing on the rock/gravel bar bolt into the woods with tails up in the air behind them... such beautiful animals! I was wearing shorts and my aqua shoes and debated on whether to put my boots on not knowing how cold the water actually was until I stepped into it. The water was surprisingly warm, but that breeze did make a difference especially when you got some part of your clothing wet!

I found the spot I last visited where 6 arrowheads were found, but didn't find squat for 15 minutes. I moved down about 5 feet and started sifting a mixture of gravel/sand and started to find shark and fish teeth! Woohoo! Lots of teeth including shark and an ancient fossilized horse tooth, and eventually arrowheads one after another! Of course not forgetting that we were there to find fossilized marine fossils! As I've said many times before finding arrowheads are a definite plus while looking for fossils... they aren't the focal point when we arrive. I just can't believe so many have been collected in this one spot! I have theories but I guess no one will never know? One thing is certain, through time many Native Americans made their encampments along that creek... this is further evidence of that.

Not only did I find whole arrowheads but broken, flakes and pottery sherds! One of my hunting buddies moved in beside me about five feet away and she too was finding arrowheads left and right! Imagine the palm sized scraper showing up in the sifter... that had to be the coolest find of the day!

Also found two pieces of palatine Enchodus jaw... I always find these with the teeth broken and not many whole ones. The two Mosasaur teeth were really cool finds as well, I call it the T-rex of the Alabama seas that swam in it 85 million years ago!

Micro fossils on the finger are, partial jaw with teeth of an Enchodus, Pyncodont fish tooth, Psuedocorax shark tooth, Stingray derma plate, broken fish tooth possibly a Xphinactus or Mosasaur tooth, Shark Coprolite and partial palatine jaw of an Enchodus. Pictured to the right are all different Enchodus interior and frontal teeth.

Over the course of time I was able to get my micro sifting and sorting done, the finds from that endeavor pictured above. The Mooreville Chalk in the area seems to have a lot of Enchodus teeth because it is the dominant fossil find on site so far! The sun began popping out from behind the clouds and made for an almost perfect day. At one point I got a lil' chilly so I had to go sit down on the chalk embankment to sun and warm myself like a lizard... ohhh the sun felt so good. After that I had to get my sifters ready for micro gravel and spent the rest of the time there obtaining it. It's getting darker earlier but was able to do show and tell with the gang. We got our gear packed headed for the owner's home to show them our finds of the day. The owner is such a sweet lady and told us that she loves for us to come down to find the treasures. All of us who attended left with a smile because it was a productive day and could be the last of the summer outings for the year because the water will get colder as well as the days. It will be time to collect terrestrial fossils during the colder months?

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page