top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRockin' Ric's Blog

Local Fossil Collector Community Within Alabama

Updated: Jan 21, 2020

Shortly after becoming a member of The Fossil Forum...I got to meet a whole community of fossil collectors in the state of Alabama! They are members of The Alabama Paleontological Society and encouraged me to come visit their meetings, and to meet other members and see recent fossils collected from field trips at their show and tell. I get to hear some of the interesting lectures from different collectors and paleontologist all over the southeast.

I did go to one of the meetings, got hooked and joined their membership! The Alabama Paleontological Society will sometime do at least 2 field trips in a month and have been fortunate to go on a few since I joined. What an adventure, I can't tell ya how many rocks I've collected and how many I've given away...lets just say moving them wasn't fun at all! The boys have long since moved on...I don't have my lil' fossil hunting buddies with me anymore. Girls instead of rocks took precedence over ole Uncle Ricky...now I have a whole community of rock collectors I can share my interest with! I learned over time that these folks collect many fossils of different kinds, some focus on fossil specific like dinosaurs or shark teeth. Of course, I'm open to many kinds but I generally prefer fern fossils...I have many in my collection like the picture below. The fern is called a Nueropteris and it flourished during the Carboniferous Period 300 something million years ago. It was found in western Jefferson County at an active surface coal mine.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page